Let's Chat

"“It's really hard to walk in a single woman's shoes — that's why you sometimes need really special shoes!” ~ Sex in the City

Nikki Minaj…In this Moment I Just Feel so Alive

The title of this blog post is exactly how I feel when I hear a song that I love. I literally feel “alive”. And, I’m sure you all can relate.

This morning, as with many mornings, I had the radio on while driving to work and I heard a favorite song and blasted the music up to deafening levels. And, then I immediately broke out with an instant upper-body dance, clapping  hands and rotating arm movements while steering the wheel, and old skool dances upper-body movements like the snake and wop. YES,  I brought back the WOP!

I have had many experiences where I broke out in a dance move while driving (of course, buckled up – because it’s the law!), not caring that fellow drivers might look at me like I’m crazy.

If you haven’t noticed already – for all of you slow readers out there – I’m mimicking the lyrics from newly famed singer/rapper Nikki Minaj’s new song “Moment for Life” in this blog post headline. Listening to this song recently really made me relate to her. I admire her courage to come into the hip hop scene and powerfully promote herself through music. Her lyrics are fierce and she’s telling the world she doesn’t care about what they think; she knows she’s hot! With her crazy faces and barbie-doll look and random yelling in her songs, you can tell that she could care less what you think. She likes to have fun with music while still getting her message across.

Now, I know there is speculation out there that Nikki Minaj is trying to copycat Lil’ Kim’s style. But, let’s be real, no one wants to look at Lil’ Kim and her lion-face. Sorry,lol, I’m not trying to be mean, but ya’ll know she looks like a lion after all of that plastic surgery she’s had done. I think we should give credit to Nikki Minaj for coming out with a hot record. Just read the lyrics to this song:

I fly with the stars in the skies,
I am no longer trying to survive,
I believe that life is a prize,
But to live doesn’t mean you’re alive.

Don’t worry bout me, and who I fire
I get what I desire, it’s my empire
And yes I call the shots, I am the umpire
I sprinkle holy water, upon the vampire
In this very moment I’m king,
In very moment I slay, Goliath with a sling,
This very moment I bring
Put it on everything, that I will retire with the ring,
And I will retire with the crown, Yes!
No I’m not lucky I’m blessed, Yes!
Clap for the heavyweight champ, Me!
But I couldn’t do it all alone, We!
Young Money raised me, grew up out in Paisley
Southside Jamaica, Queens and it’s crazy
cause I’m still hood, Hollywood couldn’t change me
shout out to my haters, sorry that you couldn’t phase me
ain’t being cocky we just vindicated, best believe that when were done
This moment will be syndicated, I don’t know, this night just reminds me of everything that they deprived me of, kuhh!!!
put ya drinks up, it’s a celebration every time we link up
We done did everything they can think of
Greatness is what we wanna brink up.

I wish that I could have this moment for life, for life, for life
Cuz in this moment I just feel so alive, alive, alive

Doesn’t that just pump you up and make you feel like you can conquer the world? And, haven’t you been in circumstances where you were so overjoyed and felt like you could do anything you put your mind to? I jammed to this song this morning during the drive into work and really helped with my Monday blues.

I applaud her. At this moment, I feel so alive, and I feel that I can really relate to her. There is much more to topic. Is there a particular musical artist or song that you can relate to? Why? I took this question to my Facebook page and I got back lots of feedback. Check it out…

“I’m a blend of Ms Hill, Ms Owens, and Ms Franklin. These ladies expressed themselves as the woman I perceive myself to be. They we blunt and strong but still brought femininity to the mix.”

“I wanted to comment but…no artist in particular I feel I relate most too. I relate more to their songs at times but as a people they are who they are I am who I am ………..”

“That is a hard question because their are so many female artist i liked through the years…i loved Salt and Pepper,TLC, Lil Kim, Sade, and others because their lyrics meant something and i could relate to their sometimes over the top ways. It was ok to be a strong sensual women with opinions not everyone agreed with.”

“That is a great question, but hands down I would have to say the late great Teena Marie, her lyrics, songs, melodies, preformances, and most of all her longevity in the business. I love how she loves music, it is evident.”

“If I had to choose, I feel I am a combination of Luther Vandross, EW&F, Mary J. and of course, Michael. All of their music influenced me in one way or another from childhood to now. I grew up with Michael, in my teen years, understood spirituality with Earth, Wind & Fire, and how love hurts and heals with Luther and Mary J.”

What musical artist do you relate to the most?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

