life

Thank you for Being a Friend?

Random thought:

Take a moment and read the lyrics to this well-known song (I know you all want to break out in song, but really, just read the words and let it sink in):

Thank you for being a friend
Traveled down the road and back again
Your heart is true, you’re a pal and a confidant

I’m not ashamed to say
I hope it always will stay this way
My hat is off, won’t you stand up and take a bow

And if you threw a party
Invited everyone you knew
You would see the biggest gift would be from me
And the card attached would say

Thank you for being a friend
If it’s a car you lack
I’d surely buy you a Cadillac
Whatever you need any time of the day or night

I’m not ashamed to say
I hope it always will stay this way
My hat is off, won’t you stand up and take a bow

And when we both get older
With walking canes and hair of gray
Have no fear even though it’s hard to hear

I will stand real close and say
Thank you for being a friend

And when we die
And float away
Into the night
The milky way
You’ll hear me call
As we ascend
I’ll say your name
Then once again
Thank you for being a friend

Screeech! Put your foot on those brakes. Aside from this reminding me of the ’80s/’90s hit TV sitcom Golden Girls, I find myself wondering: Does this type of friendship really exist? “Floating away into the night”….”as we ascend, I’ll say your name” … C’mon, really? Isn’t that a bit exaggerative?

Maybe not. Now that I think about it, I do remember a time when I thought friendship was all I needed in this life. Sure, family was always first, but in my younger years, it was all about my friends. Who needs parents?!

Cue that oh so familiar TLC song… “What about your frieeeeeeends! Will they stand their ground, will they let you down again?” As you can see, I’m all about music tonight. tlc_bbb

But, seriously, ya know, as you get older and you really take a look at the circle of people you surround yourself with and give them that honor of a friendship title, it changes over time. It’s not all that its cracked up to be.

I have to admit, I’ve always been somewhat of a social butterfly. I seemed to get along with just about everyone. The fact that I was a cheerleader in high school probably is a dead giveaway, but I think it was mainly because I accepted people for who they were. Perhaps they had a few characteristics I wasn’t fond of, but in my mind, that was their personality and there was no need to try to change them. As long as they respected me, I’d respected them and we were FRIENDS.

Today, I realize that in actuality I have more “acquaintances” than “friends.” Please don’t get me wrong, because I do have a small handful of friends that are awesome people and I appreciate them in my life to the fullest. But, I don’t know what happened, ever since I turned 30, I began to have little to no tolerance for drama. I have absolutely NO desire to be around people who are sketchy, dishonest and disrespectful, or self-centered. Honestly, I’d rather not be around you.

no-thanks

I know, that sounds a bit mean. And others might be saying, well DUH no one wants to be around that type of person. But, I was very naïve and gave everyone the benefit of the doubt in the past, until I realized… wait a minute.

Now, I bet some of you who know me personally are saying…”ooooh, is she talking about someone in particular?” The simple answer to that question is “no.”

Over the past several years there have been a series of instances (personal, business and everything in between) where I realized that I handle situations differently than I had as a younger adult. I believe as I’ve gotten older, I’ve appreciated myself more and choose to surround myself with positivity and just leave the rest behind. That’s wisdom for ya, folks.

Here’s the key takeaway: Once you have reached a point in your life where you are confident with where you are in life and who you are as a person, you will choose your environments more wisely. You won’t surround yourself with “friends” who bleed negativity constantly, who don’t appreciate the person you are, who are only concerned about themselves and have nothing to contribute to your life. Ladies, listen: You won’t settle for men who don’t meet your preferences. It’s much easier to enjoy your own company than to bring other unwanted spirits into the mix.

And you all know that I love my alone time! Can you say Netflix with NO INTERRUPTIONS! Holler!

Those are just my thoughts for tonight. But, I’m curious, do you agree? What is your definition of a friendship? Keep the conversation going. (P.S. I’m baaaaaack -insert smiley face-)

Stay Blessed.

~H. Amber

Leave a Reply

